Assault and Battery Charges Lawyer Pensacola

EXPERIENCE. RELIABILITY. RESULTS.
Home - Assault and Battery Charges Lawyer Pensacola

Helping Clients And Seeking Justice

Why Choose Us?
  • EVENING HOURS
  • APPOINTMENT FLEXIBILITY
  • FREE INITIAL CONSULTATION
  • EXPERIENCED ATTORNEYS
  • PROVEN TRACK RECORD
  • AFFORDABLE & EFFECTIVE
Free Consultation

Hire Pensacola Assault and Battery Charges Attorney

Fighting Assault and Battery Charges and Penalties in Pensacola

While many people associate assault and battery with one another, they are two separate criminal charges under Florida law. Assault refers to threats or actions that cause another person to fear imminent harm or offensive contact. Battery charges result from actual offensive or harmful contact with another person.

If you have been accused of either assault or battery in Florida, you need an experienced Pensacola assault and battery charges attorney on your side right away. Contact The Law Office of James M. Burns as soon as possible for help.

Charges and Penalties for Assault and Battery

In general, simple assault is a second-degree misdemeanor charge, while battery is a first-degree misdemeanor. The possible penalties for these charges include:

  • Jail time or probation for 60 days (assault) or one year (battery)
  • Fines of $500 (assault) or $1,000 (battery)

The sentence can be longer if you have prior convictions for assault or battery on your criminal record. These charges can also be escalated based on the identity of the victim or other factors. For example, assault can be a first-degree misdemeanor, and battery can be a third-degree felony if the victim was one of the following:

  • Law enforcement officer
  • Firefighter
  • Emergency medical technician
  • Another type of licensed peace officer
  • Someone over age 65
  • Sporting officials
  • Elected officials
  • School employees

In addition, charges can increase to aggravated assault or battery based on the use of a weapon, causing serious bodily harm, and other factors. Aggravated assault is often a third-degree felony or a second-degree felony if the assault is against a special victim. Aggravated battery is a second-degree felony or a first-degree felony against a special victim. Maximum penalties for such felony charges can range from:

  • Five to 30 years in state prison
  • Fines from $5,000 to $10,000

It is important to fight against any aggravating factors to limit the charges and penalties in your case.

Consult with an Assault and Battery Charges Attorney in Pensacola, Florida

The Law Office of James M. Burns handles cases involving violent offenses, including assault or battery. We are ready to build a defense against your charges and work to eliminate or minimize the penalties that you might face. Contact us online or call 850-457-6002 for a consultation to discuss your specific arrest and charges today.